I would definitely say the new Tim McGraw album, set to release Jan. 24, 2012, is a great example of ‘not judging a book by its cover’…or in this case, ‘not judging a CD by its cover’. In addition to the fact that Tim McGraw is very easy to look at, the designers had a title like “Emotional Traffic” to work with. Can you imagine what they COULD have done with this cover? I guess they figure most of us just get to look at the spine of the CD anyway, when it’s standing up on our shelves waiting its turn in the CD player.  Now that we’ve seen what’s on the outside of this CD, let’s talk about what’s on the inside.

I haven’t had a chance to listen to a review copy yet, but like most of us, I am familiar with Felt Good On My Lips, and Tim’s current single, Better Than I Used to Be. And since I haven’t heard the rest – we’ll let the following press release tell us about the new CD.

Tim 5With 2012 freshly out-of-the-box, Curb Records offers an adrenaline rush to country music’s new year with the January 24 release of Tim McGraw’s latest album, Emotional Traffic—a studio project the iconic performer named ‘Artist of the Decade’ by Nielsen BDS proclaims as a ‘best ever’ creative effort in his more than three decades of hit music.

Creatively collaborating on the production with Bryon Gallimore his longtime producer whose fingerprints are consistently found throughout the remarkable McGraw dynasty of 32 #1 singles and 44 million units of music sold, Emotional Traffic leaves little doubt of the foundation material McGraw’s now legendary career has been built-in. It’s the artistic brick and mortar of great songs and a great talent.

Tim 3The new 12 track set fast lanes with McGraw’s latest #1 single, Felt Good On My Lips, certified digital gold. His current single, Better Than I Used To Be, is now climbing the charts and is also included here. Of the sessions that produced the new music, McGraw noted in an interview with the Cleveland Plain Dealer on August 9: “…one of the best song I’ve ever recorded and certainly one of the best records we’ve ever made.”

TimA surprise guest artist collaboration from R&B pop wizard Ne-Yo on one of the tracks (Only Human) brings producer Darran Smith into the mix and adds further creditability to McGraw’s visionary artistic reach.  Additional stand-out tracks include the catchy and inspiring Touchdown Jesus (written by Rhett Akins, Dallas Davidson and Ben Hayslip, and I Will Not Fall Down (penned by McGraw, Martina McBride and The Warren Brothers—Brett & Brad).

Curb Records is set immediately to further announce the availability of two digital single releases from the new package which will be exclusive to iTunes and available prior to Emotional Traffic reaching its official in store street date of Tuesday, January 24.

The track listing for Emotional Traffic is as follows:

1.       Halo
2.       Right Back Actha Babe
3.       One Part, Two Part
4.       I Will Not Fall Down
5.       The One
6.       Better Than I Used To Be
7.       Touchdown Jesus
8.       The One That Got Away
9.       Felt Good On My Lips
10.     Hey Now
11.     Only Human
12.     Die By My Own Hand

Tim 1The release of Emotional Traffic is a fresh reminder of the unparalleled superstar presence Tim McGraw has carved in the music industry since the 1994 impact of his first #1 single Don’t Take The Girl skyrocketed him to national visibility and instant stardom. His most recent hit single, Felt Good On My Lips continues the now three decade history of #1’s on Billboard charts.  With 7.8 spins logged at radio, McGraw was deemed the “Artist of The Decade (2000-2010) by Nielsen Broadcast Data Systems.  He was won multiple Grammy® Awards, 14 Academy of Country Music Awards, 11 CMA Awards, 10 American Music Awards, a trio of People’s Choice Awards and numerous other industry awards and accolades to varied to mention. His creativity has branched from music to acting—having starring roles in such films as the Oscar nominated blockbuster, The Blind Side (2009)  and a breakthrough to major film in the 2004 release of the critically acclaimed Friday Night Lights.

In summer 2012, Tim McGraw will join Kenny Chesney on the “Brothers of the Sun Tour,” already anticipated to become one of the highest grossing tours of the year across all genres

Like all of Tim’s fans, I am looking forward to hearing this new album from Tim.

That’s it for now – more later!

countryNew Releasesalbum,Better,brick and mortar,curb records,decade,digital gold,emotional traffic,Felt,foundation material,haven,judging a cd,more than three decades,music,single
I would definitely say the new Tim McGraw album, set to release Jan. 24, 2012, is a great example of ‘not judging a book by its cover’…or in this case, ‘not judging a CD by its cover’. In addition to the fact that Tim McGraw is very...